## ANNUAL MEETING THE LAKES AT WILLOW CREEK HOA APRIL 21, 2022

Ken McCrory, President, called the meeting to order at 7:05 p.m. He then introduced the 2021-2022 board of directors.

Mr. McCrory asked if everyone had time to review the minutes for the 2020-2021 Annual Meeting. Hearing no objection, he asked for a motion to approve the minutes. Carla Gerber moved for approval and it was seconded by Betty Stewart. The 2020-2021 minutes were unanimously approved.

## **REPORTS:**

<u>OVERVIEW</u>: Ken McCrory provided an overview of 2020-2021. He covered issues including the removal of trees, the replacement of street light bulbs, the replacement of irrigation boxes (one of which was vandalized), Beaver damage, landscape issues and the damage to a street light at the west entrance.

K. McCrory addressed the yearlong battle with a family who filed discrimination charges with the Indiana Civil Rights Commission (ICRC) against the HOA for not permitting a rear yard fence. Mr. McCrory reported the board's position was that the Covenants were enforced as mandated by the HOA By-Laws and that the HOA and its board had done no wrongdoing. The result was the fence was not approved and the family moved from the neighborhood. However, the HOA did experience legal fees above the amount budgeted.

<u>FINANCES</u>: Dave Aker reviewed the 2020-2021 financials. He reported that due to the ICRC discrimination case, we were more than \$11,000 over budget for legal fees. However, some of this overage was countered by spending cuts in other areas. As a result, the total 2020-2021 budget was exceeded by \$4,100.

Mr. Aker then proceeded to the 2022-2023 proposed budget. The board had been made aware by our landscape vendor of pending increases in 2022 due to inflation and rising costs. With increases in legal fees the 2022-2023 budget proposal was increased approximately 8%. Following discussion, Betty Stewart moved for approval with a second from Carla Gerber. The motion was unanimously approved.

LANDSCAPE: Mike Ellinger reported that the present vendor, Landscape Maintenance, had a price increase in 2021. He also reported we were in the last year of the three-year contract with Landscape Maintenance and that we would be sending "Request for Proposals" seeking the lowest and best bid for 2023-2025.

<u>ARCHITECTURAL</u>: Dave Aker reminded everyone that the Architectural committee needed to approve any changes, or improvements to the exterior of structures as well as landscaping. He also reported that 16 projects were submitted to the committee and that 15 were approved.

<u>PONDS:</u> Dave Aker reported for Deb Aker, Chair of the Pond Committee, who was not able to attend the meeting. Mr. Aker said that the most westerly pond (the long pond) is experiencing beaver damage once again. The problem is being addressed by Critter Control.

## **NEW BUSINESS:**

<u>CAPITAL IMPROVEMENTS</u>: K. McCrory reported three projects were identified for 2022-2023.

- 1. To request that the Town of Huntertown paint the fire hydrants,
- 2. To mend the fence running along the west boundary of the HOA, and
- 3. To encourage residents to replace old mailboxes.

<u>REVIEW OF COVENANTS</u>: K. McCrory reported the existing Protective Covenants (CC&R) need a major overhaul. He explained the CC&R contains sections that are nearly impossible to enforce. In addition, the CC&R contains sections that do not conform to state, or federal law; nor does it include newer legislation by the State of Indiana affecting HOA's. Finally, the CC&R must accommodate new technology. Mr. McCrory said amending the CC&R will be a long process and that it will begin with a survey seeking opinions on some key issues.

<u>ELECTIONS</u>: Ballots were distributed with the names of residents willing to participate on the HOA board. K. McCrory then asked for any floor nominations. Being none, K. McCrory requested that the names appearing on the ballot be elected by unanimous consent. A motion by Steve Hyndman and seconded by Susan Trisdale to elect all names on the ballot was made and unanimously approved.

The following individuals were unanimously elected: Deb Aker, Dave Aker, Mike Ellinger, Tyler Gardiner, Carla Gerber, Rich Leonard, Jeff McBrayer, Ken McCrory, Tina McDonald, Doug McKinley, Betty Stewart, and Ed Waters.

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>: A motion was made and seconded to adjourn. A voice vote was taken and was unanimous for adjournment.